Class 1 Powerboats Announces Calendar and Eleven Boat Line-Up for 2011 Title Honours

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest
  • Digg
  • Tumblr
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
Class 1 Powerboats Announces Calendar and Eleven Boat Line-Up for 2011 Title Honours_2
Class 1 Powerboats Announces Calendar and Eleven Boat Line-Up for 2011 Title Honours_3
Class 1 Powerboats Announces Calendar and Eleven Boat Line-Up for 2011 Title Honours_4

The UIM Class 1 World Powerboat Championship will field one of its strongest line-ups in recent years, with promoter Nicolò di San Germano confirming an eleven boat entry for the 2011 season-opener in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates, 14-16 April.

Announcing the news at today's press conference in Monaco, San Germano also revealed the dates for ten races at five Grand Prix, with Norway, Italy, Brazil and Abu Dhabi joining Dubai as the season venues, with the possibility of a sixth event to be announced in the coming weeks.

It promises to be a closely-contested and intriguing season as old rivalries are renewed, as well as a titanic fight for supremacy in what is being billed as a Middle East versus Europe showdown, as teams prepare to go head-to-head for title honours.

Defending World, European and Middle East Champions Arif Al Zafeen and Nadir bin Hendi - the dominant drivers in Class 1 over the last four years - will steer Victory Team's single boat attack.

The triple World Champions took nine wins from 12 starts last season and know that they will face stiffer opposition in 2011, not just from neighbours Team Abu Dhabi and Middle East rivals Spirit of Qatar, but the seven teams from Europe - all intent on breaking the stranglehold that Victory Team has held over the championship since 2007.

After an impressive debut season for Team Abu Dhabi and Class 1 rookie Rashed Al Tayer, taking three wins and one podium finish, Al Tayer is retained in the driver's seat, with the team still to announce who will take the throttles alongside him.

Spirit of Qatar's recently announced return to racing renews their great rivalry with the Victory Team. Sheikh Hassan bin Jabor Al-Thani and English throttleman Steve Curtis lead the team's two-boat assault on the championship in Qatar 96, with Class 1 debutant Ali Al Neama teaming-up with the experienced Italian, Matteo Nicolini in Qatar 95.

Leading the line for European team success will be 2010 Edox Pole Position Champions Kolbjorn Selmer and Jorn Tanberg, the all-Norwegian pairing maintaining their partnership in Welmax for a third season, whilst fellow Norwegian outfit Zabo Racing look likely to maintain their 2010 pairing, with Paul Gaiser alongside throttleman Christian Zaborowski in Relekta.

Italy rolls out four teams and three all-Italian pairings in 2011: Fendi Racing will make its championship debut with owner-driver Luca Formilli Fendi and Giovanni Carpitella continuing a promising Class 1 partnership that began in Abu Dhabi last season with a podium, running an Outerlimits boat and engine package.

GiorgiOffshore has confirmed that throttleman Nicola Giorgi, who lines up for his 75th Grand Prix in Dubai, will partner Tomaso Polli who he first raced with in 2002, with Guido Cappellini resuming his partnership with Giampaolo Montaovoci, the pair teaming-up last year for fives races and grabbing two podium finishes.

Both Team D'Alessio-SCAM and Chris Parsonage Racing, the sole English entry, have confirmed their participation but are still to reveal their driver line-ups.

TEAMS 2011 - summary

Team: VICTORY TEAM (Dubai, United Arab Emirates)

Boat: #3 Victory

Pilots: Arif Saif Al Zafeen (D) UAE

Nadir Bin Hendi (T) UAE

Team: TEAM ABU DHABI (Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates)

Boat: #5 Abu Dhabi

Pilots: Rashed Al Tayer (D) UAE

tbc (T)

Team: FENDI RACING (Italy)

Boat: #10 Fendi Racing

Pilots: Luca Formilli Fendi (D) ITA

Giovanni Carpitella (T) ITA


Boat: #18 GiorgiOffshore

Pilots: Tomaso Polli (D) ITA

Nicola Giorgi (T) ITA


Boat: #50

Pilots: tbc (D)

tbc (T)

Team: TBC (Italy)

Boat: #74

Pilots: Guido Cappellini (D) ITA

Giampaolo Montavoci (T) ITA


Boat: #90 Welmax

Pilots: Kolbjorn Selmer (D) NOR

Jorn Tandberg (T) NOR

Team: ZABO RACING (Norway)

Boat: #91 Relekta

Pilots: Paul Gaiser (D) BRA

Christian Zaborowski (T) NOR


Boat: #95 Qatar

Pilots Ali Al Neama (D) QAT

Matteo Nicolini (T) ITA

Boat: #96 Qatar

Pilots: Sheikh Hassan bin Jabor Al-Thani (D) QAT

Steve Curtis (T) ENG

Team: D'ALESSIO-SCAM (Italy)

Boat: #

Pilots: tbc (D)

tbc (T)


15/16 April - Dubai, UAE

?/? June - TBA

16/17 July - Arendal, Norway

24/25 September - Stresa, Italy

22/23 October - Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (tbc)

1/2 December - Abu Dhabi, UAE

Information from Class One Powerboats

Posted By
There are no comments yet.
Rayglass Protector